Posted by: Airtower | 2011-04-21

Return to Sendai

I arrived at Sendai station this morning after more than 11 hours of bus ride from Kyoto. The city looked as usual, except maybe a bit more construction work and fewer lights. While the highway bus approached the destination I wondered if I would be able to take the city bus from the station to Sanjo-machi, because with all my luggage walking would be quite uncomfortable. After getting off the bus, I used the elevated walkways to get to my usual bus stop. On the way I found that the front side of Sendai station was covered in scaffolding and the way in front of is was blocked, so I had to go through the station. I guess they have to fix something there before it is safe. Of course, on the scaffolding was a sign with the well known words: “がんばろう東北” (difficult to translate, somewhere between “Do your best, Tohoku!” and “Good luck, Tohoku!”). At the bus stop I found that the city bus is running on schedule (although I don’t know if it applies to all lines). My bus was a little late, but since buses depend on the traffic situation, that is not unusual.

When I arrived at the dorm, I was happily greeted by one of the office ladies who told me that almost all foreign students had left and they had little idea how many would come back. The bicycles had been taken care of, they were nicely lined up in the parking area, but less than usual. After taking a little rest, cleaning up, buying some supplies and having lunch, I took my bicycle and went to Kawauchi campus. At the entrance of the student exchange division building, I saw this sign:

"Inspected" sign

Simply put, it says that this building has been checked and found to be safe to use. Access to another building, however, was prohibited, and the reason easily visible (the photo shows only part of the damage).

A railing on the roof, clumped up with debris, in danger of falling down.

I finally got the results for the previous semester’s classes (which I’m quite happy about) and asked some questions about the upcoming Japanese classes, which should start on Wednesday, although they emphasized that the schedule is not yet final. And it’s cherry blossom time in Sendai!

Pink cherry blossoms on the right, green tree on the left.

It’s nice to see how happy people are that I’m back, the owner of a vegetable shop next to the dorm even gave me a surprise discount. And concerning aftershocks: As I was about to finish this post, I felt the third quake today, which I think was the strongest one today.

Responses

  1. […] power plant. Three days later I left Sendai for western Japan to get some safety distance. When I returned in April the monitoring data from the Tohoku University Cyclotron and Radioisotope Center showed a radiation […]


Leave a Comment

Categories

