Posted by: Airtower | 2010-12-22

大雨

“大雨” (おおあめ/Ooame) is Japanese for really strong rain. “大” means big, and “雨” means rain. As you probably guessed after that introduction, we had (and still have) 大雨 in Sendai today. Normally I wouldn’t start complaining about bad weather on my blog, but this time the rain was really strong and I also have photos.

When I got up in the morning, it was already raining quite heavily, and unfortunately it got a lot worse while I was on the way to my kanji class around noon. The streets started to turn into small rivers. The Japanese dealt with this as I would have expected: Take care as far as necessary, but otherwise pretend there was nothing unusual. At first I tried to avoid the areas with the most water, but it soon got to the point where I stopped caring. Why bother about streams on the road when your shoes contain ponds anyway? Luckily any コンビニ (konbini) sells hot drinks! I kind of envied the children who were going home from school, wearing rubber boots and happily jumping through the stream that the sidewalk had become.

At the university I found some water running into the ground floor of the building my class was in, and I took a photo of stairs that had turned into a cascade of waterfalls.

A lot of water running down some stairs, turning them into a cascade of waterfalls.

When I had to go home, the rain was taking a little break, so I stopped on 澱橋 (Yodomi-bridge) to take some photos of the 広瀬川 (Hirose-river). Usually the river has clear water and you can see the ground from the bridge, but it had turned muddy, carried some dead wood, was a lot deeper than usual and accordingly wider.

A big, muddy river, about to flood the low grassy area next to it.

A nice and very typical thing was how they (the city, or whoever is responsible) dealt with a gully cover on a crossing that was in danger of being pushed away by the water from below: It was blocked with sandbags, and a guy in uniform was standing next to it to guide the pedestrians, bicycles and cars around. Of course there was still water rushing out, but it didn’t do any harm.

Anything else? Well, this night I was woken up by an earthquake for the first time (around 2:30 a.m.), and in addition to the rain there’s also strong wind, which destroyed my umbrella, the second one to meet that fate. Maybe I should check if there’s a discount for buying a bunch of them at the same time. 😉

Responses

  1. o_O

  2. Also hört sich nach Regenzeit an, die gibts es in Japan doch auch soweit ich weiß, jedenfalls kam es in einpaar Mangas vor ^^
    wie wär’s wenn du dir lieber einpaar regenstiefel und eine richtig jacke holst???

    • Regenzeit gibt es, aber normalerweise ist das eher zwischen Frühjahr und Sommer. Eine Japanerin hat das mit Taifun-Wetter verglichen…

      An Stiefel hab ich auch schon gedacht, will morgen mal schauen. 😉


Leave a Comment

Categories

