Posted by: Airtower | 2010-08-05

Some notes about LaTeX

I’m working on a research paper right now and had to refresh my knowledge of LaTeX for that. Here are some random things I found useful or that I think will be useful as the work progresses. If you don’t know what LaTeX is: It is a typesetting system. Instead of formatting documents in a graphical editor, with LaTeX you can write what you mean plus some commands and generate formatted documents (e.g. PDF or DVI) as needed. You can read more on Wikipedia.

Wikibooks

There’s a great LaTeX guide at Wikibooks. I used that when I initially learned LaTeX, and now as a reference. If you’re new to LaTeX, it’s probably a good place to start learning.

ifpdf

With ifpdf, you can tell the compiler to evaluate certain parts of the document only when generating PDF output or when not doing that. I use it to load and configure hyperref only when generating PDF.

\usepackage{ifpdf}
\ifpdf
\usepackage[pdftex,
  pdfauthor={Me}
  pdftitle={My Research}
  pdfsubject={My research topic}
  pdfkeywords={keyword1, keyword2}
]{hyperref}
\else
% generating DVI
\fi

Quotation marks

Writing correct German quotation marks (“Anführungszeichen”) is really simple, I just needed to find out how. The solution: \glqq and \grqq from the german or ngerman package.

\usepackage{german}
[...]
\glqq Hi!\grqq

Links

Leave a Comment

Categories

